News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

How can automated mobility be integrated in our cities?

Jun 4, 2021

Today, cities and urban regions are faced with the task of adding new technologies and solutions to existing mobility systems. Automation in particular is leading to changes in mobility. We spoke with experts and city representatives about why it is important to put this topic on the urban agenda now.

The Austrian Association of Cities and Towns considers itself obliged to inform cities about the latest developments and to facilitate exchanges and joint learning. “Automation will take place, or “find the city”, that’s for sure – regardless of whether the cities have already taken precautions in advance or not”, says Stephanie Schwer, Transportation Expert of the Austrian Association of Cities and Towns. For this reason, existing transport and mobility concepts have to be expanded and adapted to the new tasks, and obligatory statements should be made for objectives and the bans and prohibitions based on them. “For traffic planners of cities, automated mobility goes hand in hand with an expansion of their portfolio of tasks in the areas of data management and security as well as traffic and fleet management. Infrastructure also needs to be rethought and repositioned in the direction of digitalisation. Further challenges arise in spatial planning, for example, when we think about the use of sidewalks or the planning of new settlement structures with reduced parking space keys.” explains Schwer too.

Identifying and exploiting the potential
The potential of automated mobility varies. For Andrea Stickler and Mathias Mitteregger, who work for the AVENUE21 project team at the Vienna University of Technology, it is above all in their feasible support for an ecologically, economically and socially sustainable change in transport. “Compared to today’s forms of (car) mobility, automated mobility could open up enormous opportunities due to demand-oriented offers, digitally integrated booking platforms, convenience and cost advantages. At the same time, the use of automated mobility will be contested and will cause conflicts of interest and space.”


Scenarios with automated vehicles are still often researched and tested on high-level road networks, as this can be done more easily than in urban areas with many – even unregulated – intersections, pedestrians, cyclists and others. “Due to the more complex environment, cities can even wait for experiences on motorways, for example. Implementation could then take place in different stages. However, the needs of the population have to continue to be taken into account in the event of any necessary changes to the design of public roads. I see great opportunities for cities in the area of multimodal mobility guarantees”, says Franz Dinhobl, City Councillor of the Statutory City of Wiener Neustadt.


The first test scenarios for and in cities have been developed in particular with automated shuttles as a complement to traditional public transport or for the distribution of goods. “This will make mobility in the city more efficient and safer. As an operator of public transport, we see potential in internal processes at depots and as a provider of additional mobility services”, reports Martin Schmidt, Planning Management & Infrastructure, Head of Line & Traffic Development at Holding Graz.

First steps in implementation
Concrete use cases are the key. And since cities have very different requirements and conditions, the scenarios for testing and pilot projects with automated vehicles have to be individually defined.


“European cities and regions have very different spatial structures, mobility styles and transport and urban planning approaches”, explain Stickler and Mitteregger. “In our project “AVENUE21 Automated Transport: Developments in Urban Europe”, we have shown that these different spatial, social and political conditions will have a decisive impact on the use of automated mobility. From a technological point of view, there are different degrees fo suitability of existing road infrastructures for the use of automated mobility, which may create a new inequality that has not been discussed so far. We also expect a long transition period in which mobility technologies can differentiate and exist at the same time.”


“In the line and traffic development department of Graz Linien, we have been working on this topic since about 2017. On the one hand, it is about identifying achievable benefits for us as an operator. On the other hand, it is also a question of assessing what this development may have in terms of behavioural change and how it might change our market environment. As part of the “Move2Zero” project, we have introduced a shuttle pre-operating (i.e. non-automated) as part of the project, but a dedicated booking platform for such applications can be used for instance. Through our MobilityLab, we support the project partners organisationally in preparing a test with a highly automated vehicle on a public transport route in the SHOW project”, says Schmidt.


Often the goal is to reduce traffic volumes or to make the mobility offer more inclusive with automated mobility solutions. In order to address the citizens, tests are often installed when a high level of user involvement is given. Dinhobl: “During the national exhibition in 2019, an autonomous bus was tested in the city centre of Wiener Neustadt. Further technological development in general and autonomous mobility in particular could be used to reduce the negative impact of transport.“

Next steps
Technological change takes time. Partial autonomous systems are the first step. “In my opinion, the challenges lie in the fact that the implementation will increase the transport routes in the environmental network. From today’s point of view, a full-scale implementation is still associated with major challenges. The framework for action of cities lies in regulation and promotion according to network expansion and road hierarchy, says Dinhobl.

In order for cities to be able to fulfill these tasks, partnerships and cooperations have to be entered into ahead of time and thought should be given to financing structures. In this way, cities can proactively play their shaping role in the field of automated mobility and not give way to a sprawling future.
"It is important that the use of new technologies remains in harmony with the overriding transport and climate policy goals. In this context, it is not only important to design mobility with low emissions, but also in a way that is compatible with urban life. This includes leaving enough space for people and reducing the separating effect of traffic axes. A further increase in single-passenger journeys or even "ghost journeys", where vehicles travel without passengers, should therefore be avoided, because this would further increase land consumption," Schmidt emphasizes. Instead, there should be fleet management, in which urban transport companies, for example, offer overall mobility as a service, explicitly including peripheral areas. "Another challenge relates to the extent to which automated vehicles rely on the exchange of data with the infrastructure operator (and thus the cities). Here, municipal administrations could face high investment and operating costs as well as challenges in terms of skilled personnel," Schmidt continues.

Expectations are sometimes high. However, there cannot be a "one-size-fits-all solution". Stickler and Mitteregger summarize: "Although it is true that in the best case we can solve the so-called "wicked-problems" of mobility with automated mobility - i.e., greater decarbonization of transport, safety in the transport system, noise reduction, and the reclamation and use of public space, we think that really sensible areas of application are primarily on the outskirts of cities and in suburban areas that are more car-oriented today. In more rural areas, use in tourism might work, but probably not in truly thinly populated, peripheral locations. In these areas, a valuable extension of public transport is possible. At the same time, it must be ensured that forms of active mobility (walking and cycling) are not affected. Then, automated mobility represents significant added value for cities themselves, for mobility operators, and for citizens."

 

 “There’s a general understanding amongst European cities that automation is not a goal in itself but a potential enabler to support the shift from individual car use to shared, electrified multimodal transport services. They look with interest at what is happening in this area but – like with urban air mobility – they don’t see it as a priority yet and apart from accommodating and scaling up pilots or studying potential impacts, they are not yet preparing for major deployment.”

Peter Staelens, Senior Project Coordination EUROCITIES

"It is important that the use of new technologies remains in harmony with the overriding transport and climate policy goals. In this context, it is not only important to design mobility with low emissions, but also in a way that is compatible with cities. This includes leaving enough space for people and reducing the separating effect of traffic axes."

Dipl.-Kfm. Martin Schmidt, MSc Planning Management & Infrastructure Head of Line & Traffic Development Holding 

"Technological changes take time. Partially automated systems are the first step. The challenges are that implementation will increase environmental transportation."
Dipl.-Ing. Franz Dinhobl, City Councilor of the Statutory City of Wiener Neustadt

"The future of mobility is a very conflict-ridden field that "moves" many people emotionally, but is also associated with strategic interests. We researchers are part of this conflict-ridden negotiation process and can analyse and expose this process, but also partly moderate between different interests, point out different design options and advocate for certain struggles in the sense of a sustainable transport turnaround."

Andrea Stickler and Mathias Mitteregger, AVENUE21 Project Team of the Vienna University of Technology

This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. Please read our privacy policy to learn more about how we use cookies and how you can manage them. You have the option to voluntarily accept all cookies that are not necessary by clicking on the "Accept Cookies" button or to reject them by clicking on the "Reject Cookies" button.

News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

Wie kann automatisierte Mobilität Teil unserer Städte werden?

04.06.2021

Städte und Stadtregionen stehen heute vor der Aufgabe, bestehende Mobilitätssysteme um neue Technologien und Lösungen zu erweitern. Besonders die Automatisierung führt zu Veränderungen in der Mobilität. Wir haben mit ExperInnen und StädtevertreterInnen gesprochen, warum es wichtig ist, das Thema bereits jetzt auf die städtische Agenda zu setzen.

Der Österreichische Städtebund sieht sich in der Pflicht, Städte über neueste Entwicklungen zu informieren und einen Austausch und ein gemeinsames Lernen zu ermöglichen. „Automatisierung wird stattfinden, bzw. „die Stadt finden“, soviel steht fest – egal, ob die Städte bereits im Vorfeld Vorkehrungen getroffen haben, oder nicht.“, sagt Stephanie Schwer, Verkehrsreferentin des Österreichischen Städtebundes. Darum müssen vor allem bestehende Verkehrs- bzw. Mobilitätskonzepte um die neuen Aufgabenfelder erweitert und adaptiert werden und es verbindliche Aussagen für Ziele sowie der darauf aufbauenden Gebote und Verbote getroffen werden. „Für die VerkehrsplanerInnen der Städte geht mit der automatisierten Mobilität eine Erweiterung des Aufgabenportfolios im Bereich Datenmanagement und -sicherheit sowie Verkehrs- und Flottenmanagement einher. Auch die Infrastruktur muss in Richtung Digitalisierung neu gedacht und aufgesetzt werden. Weitere Herausforderungen ergeben sich in der Raumordnung, wenn wir zum Beispiel an die Nutzungsmöglichkeiten der Gehsteigkanten oder die Planung neuer Siedlungsstrukturen mit reduzierten Stellplatzschlüssel denken.“ erklärt Schwer weiter.

Das Potenzial erkennen und nutzen
Das Potenzial von automatisierter Mobilität ist vielfältig. Für Andrea Stickler und Mathias Mitteregger, tätig für das Projektteam AVENUE21 der TU Wien, liegt es vor allem in ihrer möglichen Unterstützung einer ökologisch, ökonomischen und sozial nachhaltigen Verkehrswende. „Die automatisierte Mobilität könnte im Vergleich zu heutigen Formen der (Auto-)Mobilität aufgrund bedarfsorientierter Angebote, digital integrierter Buchungsplattformen, Komfort- und Kostenvorteilen enorme Chancen eröffnen. Gleichzeitig wird der Einsatz der automatisierten Mobilität umkämpft sein und Interessens- sowie Raumkonflikte hervorrufen.“

Szenarien mit automatisierten Fahrzeugen werden heute noch oft am hochrangigen Straßennetz erforscht und getestet, da sich dies dort teilweise einfacher gestalten lässt, als im städtischen Bereich mit vielen – auch ungeregelten – Kreuzungen, Fußgängern, Radfahrern u.a. „Aufgrund des komplexeren Umfelds können Städte auch die Erfahrungen auf z. B. Autobahnen abwarten. Die Implementierung könnte dann in Stufen erfolgen. Bei ev. notwendigen Gestaltungsänderungen des öffentlichen Straßenraums muss aber auch künftig auf die Bedürfnisse der Bevölkerung Bedacht genommen werden. Für Städte sehe ich große Chancen im Bereich von multimodalen Mobilitätsgarantien.“, weiß Dipl.-Ing. Franz Dinhobl, Stadtrat der Statutarstadt Wiener Neustadt.

Gerade mit automatisierten Shuttles als Ergänzung zum klassischen Öffentlichen Verkehr oder für die Güterverteilung sind erste Testszenarien für und in Städten entstanden. „Damit kann die Mobilität in der Stadt effizienter und sicherer werden. Als Betreiber des öffentlichen Verkehrs sehen wir Potenziale unter anderem bei internen Prozessen auf Betriebshöfen wie auch als Anbieter von ergänzenden Mobilitätsdienstleistungen.“, berichtet Martin Schmidt, Planungsmanagement & Infrastruktur, Leitung Linien- & Verkehrsentwicklung bei der Holding Graz.

Erste Umsetzungsschritte
Konkrete Anwendungsfälle sind der Schlüssel. Und da Städte sehr unterschiedlichen Anforderungen und Voraussetzungen haben, müssen die Szenarien für Tests und Pilotprojekte mit automatisierten Fahrzeugen individuell definiert werden. „In europäischen Städten und Regionen finden sich sehr unterschiedliche räumliche Strukturen, Mobilitätsstile sowie Verkehrs- und Stadtplanungsansätze.“, erklären Stickler und Mitteregger. „Wir haben in unserem Projekt „AVENUE21 Automatisierter Verkehr: Entwicklungen des urbanen Europa“ aufgezeigt, dass diese unterschiedlichen räumlichen, sozialen und politischen Gegebenheiten entscheidend auf den Einsatz von automatisierter Mobilität wirken werden. Aus technologischer Sicht sind die bestehenden Straßeninfrastrukturen unterschiedlich stark für den Einsatz von automatisierter Mobilität geeignet, wodurch eine neue Ungleichheit entstehen kann, die bislang noch wenig diskutiert wurde. Ebenfalls gehen wir von einer langen Phase des Übergangs aus, in der sich Mobilitätstechnologien ausdifferenzieren und zeitgleich bestehen können.“

„In der Stabstelle Linien- und Verkehrsentwicklung der Graz Linien beschäftigen wir uns seit etwa 2017 mit diesem Thema. Zum einen geht es darum mögliche Nutzen für uns als Betreiber zu erkennen. Anderseits aber auch darum abzuschätzen, was diese Entwicklung in Hinblick auf Verhaltensänderung bewirken kann und wie sich damit unser Marktumfeld ändern könnte. Im Zuge des Projekts „Move2Zero“ haben wir als Teilprojekt die Einführung eines Shuttle-Vorbetriebes (d.h. nicht automatisiert), bei dem aber beispielsweise eine eigene Buchungsplattform für derartige Anwendungszwecke zum Einsatz kommen soll. Über unser MobilityLab unterstützen wir beim Projekt SHOW die Projektpartner organisatorisch beim Vorbereiten eines Tests mit einem hochautomatisierten Fahrzeug auf einer ÖV-Trasse., so Schmidt.
Oft ist das Ziel, mit automatisierten Mobilitätslösungen das Verkehrsaufkommen zu reduzieren oder das Mobilitätsangebot inklusiver zu machen. Um die Bevölkerung gut abzuholen, werden Tests oftmals dann installiert, wenn eine hohe Einbindung der NutzerInnen besonders stark gegeben ist. Dinhobl dazu: „Während der Landesausstellung im Jahr 2019 wurde ein autonom fahrender Bus in der Innenstadt von Wiener Neustadt getestet. Die weitere technologische Entwicklung im Allgemeinen und speziell die autonome Mobilität könnte dazu genutzt werden, um die negativen Auswirkungen des Verkehrs zu reduzieren.“

Was es noch braucht
Der technologische Wandel braucht Zeit. Teilautonome Systeme sind dabei der erste Schritt. „Die Herausforderungen liegen meiner Meinung nach darin, dass durch die Implementierung die Verkehrswege im Umweltverbund gesteigert werden. Eine vollflächige Implementierung ist aus heutiger Sicht noch mit großen Herausforderungen verbunden. Der Handlungsrahmen der Städte liegt in der Reglementierung und Förderung je nach Netzausbau und Straßenhierarchie., sagt Dinhobl.

Damit die Städte diesen Aufgaben nachkommen können, müssen vorzeitig Partnerschaften und Kooperationen eingegangen und über Finanzierungsstrukturen nachgedacht werden. So können Städte ihre gestalterische Rolle im Bereich der automatisierten Mobilität proaktiv wahrnehmen und nicht einer zersiedelten Zukunft Raum geben. „Wichtig ist, dass der Einsatz neuer Technologien im Einklang mit den übergeordneten verkehrs- und klimapolitischen Zielen bleibt. Dabei gilt es nicht nur Mobilität emissionsarm zu gestalten, sondern auch stadtverträglich. Dazu gehört, dass ausreichend Platz für Menschen bleibt und die Trennwirkung von Verkehrsachsen reduziert wird. Eine weitere Steigerung von Fahrten mit nur einem Passagier oder gar „Geisterfahrten“, wo Fahrzeuge ohne Fahrgäste unterwegs sind, sind daher hintanzuhalten, weil dadurch der Flächenverbrauch noch weiter gesteigert wird.“, betont Schmidt. Stattdessen sollte es ein Flottenmanagement geben, bei dem etwa städtische Verkehrsunternehmen die Gesamtmobilität als Dienstleistung anbieten und dabei auch explizit Randgebiete mit erschließen. „Eine weitere Herausforderung betrifft die Frage, inwieweit automatisierte Fahrzeuge auf den Austausch von Daten mit dem Infrastrukturbetreiber (und damit den Städten) angewiesen sind. Hier könnten hohe Investitions- und Betriebskosten sowie Herausforderungen bezüglich Fachpersonal auf die städtischen Verwaltungen zukommen.“, so Schmidt weiter.

Die Erwartungshaltungen sind teilweise hoch. Eine „One-Size-Fits-All-Lösung“ kann es aber nicht geben. Stickler und Mitteregger fassen zusammen: „Obwohl es zutrifft, dass wir im besten Falle mit der automatisierten Mobilität die sogenannten „wicked-problems“ der Mobilität lösen können – also eine stärkere Dekarbonisierung des Verkehrs, Sicherheit im Verkehrssystem, Lärmreduktion sowie die Rückgewinnung und Nutzung von öffentlichem Raum, denken wir, dass wirklich sinnvolle Einsatzgebiete vor allem an den Stadträndern und in heute eher autoaffinen Lagen im suburbanen Raum liegen. In eher ländlichen Regionen, könnte der Einsatz im Tourismus funktionieren, wahrscheinlich aber nicht in wirklich dünnbesiedelten, peripheren Lagen. In den genannten Gebieten ist eine wertvolle Erweiterung des öffentlichen Verkehrs möglich. Gleichzeitig muss beachtet werden, dass Formen der aktiven Mobilität (Zufußgehen und Radverkehr) nicht beeinträchtigt werden. Dann stellt die automatisierte Mobilität sowohl für Städte selbst, für Mobilitätsbetreiber und BürgerInnen einen wesentlichen Mehrwert dar.“

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um Ihre Benutzererfahrung zu verbessern. Bitte lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung um mehr zu erfahren, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie diese verwalten können. Sie haben die Möglichkeit per Klick auf den Button „Cookies akzeptieren“ freiwillig alle nicht notwendigen Cookies zu akzeptieren oder per Klick auf den Button „Cookies ablehnen“ diese abzulehnen.