News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

Cities on the way to climate neutrality

Nov 10, 2021

On 8th September 2021 a workshop on the subject of “Climate-neutral cities” took place as part of REAL CORP conference 2021. The focus was set on the exchange of approaches in urban planning practice and research to achieve climate neutrality by 2040.

The innovation potential in urban areas is great and diverse. How these innovations can contribute to climate goals was at the core of the workshop. The aim of exchange of national and international good practice was to inspire and stimulate interdisciplinary exchange.

In the first session, the international front-runner cities Leuven and Malmö met with the Austrian representatives Graz and Vienna. The focus of the discussion was the decision-making mechanisms and types of stakeholder involvement that city administrations can use to stabilise ambition to decarbonise all sectors of a city and become more inclusive and attractive at the same time.

Leuven 2030: Together for climate-neutrality

Katrien Rycken, director of the innovative process "Leuven 2030", presented the measures taken by Leuven by which the Belgian city has succeeded in setting up an ambitious and inclusive process. This process aims at advancing sustainability through joint action of administration, university, companies and civil society. Building on trust in coordinating and distributing responsibility in the local community, "Leuven 2030" strives to "not only do what is possible, but do what is necessary"2, as Rycken emphasises.

KING: Graz "Climate Innovation City" goes ahead with a district as test bed

In the project "KING – Climate Innovation City Graz", presented by Doris Wiederwald from Graz Energy Agency, the measures of the local climate protection plan are transferred to and implemented in the Reininghaus district. Starting in this test area, the city of Graz means to learn how city administration and municipal companies of Graz can become climate-neutral as quickly as possible and find ways to transfer these experiences to all other districts of the city in the future.

Malmö: Driving forward the learning process

The Swedish city of Malmö was represented by Jonas Kamleh, urban climate strategist. With his team of 50 people, he has been working for many years on building strategies, partnerships and means of funding and measures to achieve urban climate neutrality. With this experience and the existing capacities, Malmö builds on agile strategies, periodically revisiting their development path, in order to accelerate the pace of on-going learning processes. Furthermore, Malmö city administration is pioneering the area of data collection and processing and is thus able to pursue its path to climate neutrality by 2030 effectively.

Fit4WienerMission: Citizen participation emphasised

Eva Pangerl, project planner in the Urban Development Department of the City of Vienna, brought the "Fit4WienerMission" innovation project to the conference. Starting from the local Smart City Framework Strategy, Vienna trusts its implementation experience on the district level (including approaches such as the "Supergrätzel") as well as expertise stemming from science, in form of the Climate Council, and its activities involving civil society, for example by implementing citizen budgets.

Possibilities of urban transformation processes

In the second workshop, leaders of recent scientific projects dealt with the question of how to detect and actively support change towards a climate-neutral city through research methods. Barbara Laa, from Vienna University of Technology, examined how initiatives from civil society can bring the topic of mobility transition from niches to societal mainstream and which barriers have to be overcome on the way in the project "CHANGE! Mobility change in the minds". Jennifer Fauster took a close look at the Smart City discourse in Graz and underlined the importance of urban mix of uses, qualitative density and the central notion of system boundaries. In the study "Together we are stronger", Florian Reinwald analysed the challenges of the Vienna metropolitan region in the process of developing a joint strategy for adapting to climate change. Coordination through an umbrella organisation was seen as essential, as it brings municipalities, planning agencies and representatives of all sectors to one table. Michael Giesch, University of Graz, presented the experiences of the project "Pop-up Piazza". Using approaches from tactical urbanism, simple, inexpensive and experimental prototypes were developed for transforming streets temporarily as meeting areas.

Finally, the participants brought forward the relevance of the quick test cycles for improving measures. Similarly, innovative methods were deemed essential for involving all relevant local actors in order to be able to put bold strategies into practice.

© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber

This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. Please read our privacy policy to learn more about how we use cookies and how you can manage them. You have the option to voluntarily accept all cookies that are not necessary by clicking on the "Accept Cookies" button or to reject them by clicking on the "Reject Cookies" button.

News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

Städte auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität

10.11.2021

Am 8. September 2021 fand im Zuge der REAL CORP 2021 ein Workshop zum Thema „Klimaneutrale Städte“ statt. Der Fokus lag dabei auf dem Austausch von Ansätzen aus städtischer Planungspraxis, um Klimaneutralität bis 2040 zu erreichen.

Das Innovationspotenzial im städtischen Bereich ist groß und vielfältig. Wie diese Innovationen auf die Klimaziele einzahlen können, stand bei dem Workshop im Vordergrund. Der Austausch von nationalen und internationalen Best Practice Beispielen sollte inspirieren und den interdisziplinären Austausch ankurbeln.

In der ersten Session trafen die internationalen Vorreiterstädte Leuven und Malmö mit den österreichischen Vertreterinnen Graz und Wien zusammen. Thematisiert wurde dabei, mit welchen Steuerungsmechanismen und Arten der Einbindung von Akteur:innen es Stadtverwaltungen schaffen können, alle Sektoren einer Stadt möglichst schnell zu dekarbonisieren und damit gleichzeitig inklusiver und attraktiver zu werden.

Leuven 2030: Gemeinsam für mehr Nachhaltigkeit

Katrien Rycken, Direktorin des innovativen Prozesses „Leuven 2030“ stellte die gesetzten Maßnahmen von Leuven vor mit denen es der belgischen Stadt gelungen ist einen ambitionierten und inklusiven Prozess auf die Beine zu stellen, um Nachhaltigkeit im gemeinsamen Handeln von Verwaltung, Universität, Unternehmen und Zivilgesellschaft voranzutreiben. Aufbauend auf das Vertrauen durch Koordination und Verteilung von Verantwortung in der lokalen Gemeinschaft, strebt „Leuven 2030“ danach, „nicht nur das zu tun, was möglich, sondern das, was notwendig ist,“ wie Rycken betont.

KING: Klimainnovationsstadt Graz startet mit Test-Stadtteil

Im Projekt „KING – Klimainnovationsstadt Graz“, präsentiert von Doris Wiederwald, Grazer Energieagentur, , wird der lokale Klimaschutzplan und dessen Maßnahmen auf den Stadtteil Reininghaus übertragen und umgesetzt. Anhand des Testgebiets kann die Stadt Graz sehen, wie die Stadtverwaltung und kommunalen Betriebe Graz („Haus Graz“) bestmöglich klimaneutral werden können und wie diese Erfahrungen auf alle weiteren Viertel der Stadt umgelegt werden können.

Malmö: Lernprozess vorantreiben

Das schwedische Malmö wurde von Jonas Kamleh, städtischer Klimastratege, vertreten. Mit seinem 50-köpfigen Team arbeitet er seit vielen Jahren am Aufbau von Strategien, Partnerschaften, Förderungen und Maßnahmen, um urbane Klimaneutralität zu verwirklichen. Mit dieser Erfahrung und den vorhandenen Kapazitäten setzt Malmö auf agile Strategien, deren Erreichungspfad laufend überprüft wird, um das Tempo der praktischen Lernprozesse zu beschleunigen. Auch im Bereich der Datenerhebung und -verarbeitung ist die Stadtverwaltung am neuesten Stand und schafft es somit ihren Weg zur Klimaneutralität bis 2030 zu verfolgen.

Fit4WienerMission: Bürger:innenbeteiligung groß geschrieben

Eva Pangerl, Projektplanerin der Abteilung Stadtentwicklung der Stadt Wien, hat das Innovationsprojekt „Fit4WienerMission“ vorgestellt. Aufbauend auf die Smart City Rahmenstrategie vertraut Wien im Projekt auf Umsetzungserfahrungen aus Stadtteilebene (u.a. durch Ansätze wie das „Supergrätzel“) sowie auf Expertise aus der Wissenschaft, in Form des Klimarats, und der Bevölkerung, etwa über Bürger:innenbudgets.

Möglichkeiten urbaner Transformationsprozesse

Im zweiten Workshop setzten sich Projektvertreter:innen mit der Frage auseinander, wie ein Wandel hin zur komaneutralen Stadt mit Methoden der Forschung unterstützt werden kann. Barbara Laa, TU Wien, untersuchte im Projekt „Mobilitätswende in den Köpfen“ wie Initiativen aus der Zivilgesellschaft das Thema von der Nische in den gesellschaftlichen Mainstream bringen können und welche Barrieren sie auf diesem Weg überwinden müssen. Jennifer Fauster hat sich den Grazer Smart City Diskurs im Detail angesehen und dabei die Bedeutung der Nutzungsmischung, qualitativer Dichte und der Beachtung von Systemgrenzen unterstrichen. In der Studie „Together we are stronger“ analysierte Florian Reinwald die Herausforderungen der Wiener Metropolregion im Entwicklungsprozess einer gemeinsamen Strategie zur Klimawandelanpassung. Essenziell wurde dabei die Koordination durch einen Dachverband gesehen, der Gemeinden, Planungsträger:innen und Vertreter:innen der Sektoren an einen Tisch bringt. Den Abschluss machte Michael Giesch, Universität Graz, der die Erfahrungen des Grazer Projekts „Pop-up Piazza“ vorstellte. Mit Ansätzen des „taktischen Urbanismus“ wurden einfache, günstige und experimentelle Prototypen entwickelt, um temporär Straßenflächen als Begegnungszonen zu nutzen.

In den gemeinsamen Diskussionen mit den Teilnehmer:innen hat sich die Relevanz der schnellen Testzyklen und die Verbesserung von Maßnahmen herausgestellt. Ebenso sind innovative Methoden zur Involvierung möglichst vielfältiger Akteur:innen wichtig, um mutige Strategien in die Praxis bringen zu können.

© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber
© BOKU/Christoph Gruber

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um Ihre Benutzererfahrung zu verbessern. Bitte lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung um mehr zu erfahren, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie diese verwalten können. Sie haben die Möglichkeit per Klick auf den Button „Cookies akzeptieren“ freiwillig alle nicht notwendigen Cookies zu akzeptieren oder per Klick auf den Button „Cookies ablehnen“ diese abzulehnen.