News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

E-vehicles and fire protection

Aug 17, 2021

Electric vehicles make an important contribution to the decarbonisation of road traffic and are a prerequisite for achieving climate neutrality in 2040. But electric vehicles can also score points when it comes to safety-related aspects.

The Mobility Masterplan 2030 describes goals in order to achieve only emission-free new registrations in the car sector by 2030. It is therefore necessary to gradually switch to battery electric vehicles. The fact that electric vehicles are safe and, according to ADAC, already perform better than conventional vehicles in crash tests, underlines their potential. Nevertheless, it is important to dispel existing uncertainties in the population, especially with regard to fire safety. In the current information sheet on fire safety in electric vehicles, the Federal Ministry for Climate Protection (BMK) has summarized this topic and other safety aspects for electrically operated vehicles.

Fire safety in the garage

According to a study commissioned by the German Ministry of Transport, around 80 to 90 percent of charges will take place in private parking spaces in 2030. Many of them are in garages and there are still uncertainties about the fire safety of e-vehicles. It is a common misconception that modern e-cars emit so-called charging gases. This myth turns out to be wrong, as it only applies to lead-acid batteries, which are no longer used in today's electric car models. Lithium-ion batteries, which are largely gas-tight and safe, are used in modern e-vehicles. Cable fires cannot be ruled out per se, but if the charging infrastructure is properly installed and maintained, they rarely or never occur. It is important to know that the normal household shockproof plug is not designed for the continuous load that occurs when charging an e-car. For this reason, at least a CEE socket (“high-voltage socket”) designed for continuous load or even better, a “wallbox” designed for charging should be used. The "Right to Plug", which was assessed on 17th June 2021, will facilitate the expansion of charging stations in residential buildings and also accelerate the expansion accordingly. A private charging station should only be installed by a licensed specialist electrical company. The installation and operation of a charging station are strictly regulated, and charging stations must be checked annually.

Fire safety in an accident involving an electric vehicle

In the event of a fire, electric vehicles do not behave significantly differently than combustion vehicles, as the Austrian research project "BRAFA" has proven. However, there is a difference when it comes to fighting the fire and recovering the vehicles involved in the accident. If the battery is so badly deformed that a battery fire occurs, one or more subsequent fires cannot be ruled out up to 100 hours later. It is therefore important to ensure that there is sufficient water for fighting the fire and the gases released, and that the wreck is properly transported and stored appropriately. According to the German Social Accident Insurance Association (DGUV), the vehicle only has to be stored in a water bath in the rarest of cases, which is also not recommended as a preventive measure. The Austrian Federal Fire Association published an information sheet for fire fighters on how to properly deal with electric vehicles in an accident in 2020.

Further research on security aspects

New studies and projects investigate further questions on accidents and fire behaviour of e-vehicles so that e-cars can also make a positive safety-relevant contribution to the mobility transition. In addition to the FFG “BRAFA” project, the “BEVITUN” project is investigating the effects of accidents with alternatively operated vehicles in tunnels. In any case, the interim results of these research projects are very positive: E-vehicles are very safe and do not differ significantly from combustion vehicles in terms of fire behaviour. In its investigations, the ADAC also came to a positive test result: There is currently no evidence that electric vehicles, with or without the effects of an accident, start to burn more quickly than cars with internal combustion engines. As part of the Zero Emission Mobility Implementation annual program 2020, an R&D service was tendered which will investigate further open safety-related questions in accident situations with battery electric vehicles.

In order to achieve the climate goals in the mobility sector, a switch to emission-free vehicles is a prerequisite. In the passenger car sector, the technology decision to transform to purely battery-electric drives has already been made. In the bus and heavy commercial vehicle sector, the drive technology of the future is not yet clear. This can also be seen in the new registration figures for the first half of 2021, where around 15,300 pure electric cars (around 14% of new registrations) and only four hydrogen cars were registered. It is important for the public sector to set the right framework conditions so that the charging infrastructure can be expanded in accordance with the safety-relevant criteria and new findings from research can flow into the design of the framework conditions.

This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. Please read our privacy policy to learn more about how we use cookies and how you can manage them. You have the option to voluntarily accept all cookies that are not necessary by clicking on the "Accept Cookies" button or to reject them by clicking on the "Reject Cookies" button.

News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

E-Fahrzeuge und Brandsicherheit

17.08.2021

Elektrofahrzeuge leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Dekarbonisierung im Straßenverkehr und sind eine notwendige Voraussetzung zur Erreichung der Klimaneutralität 2040. Aber auch bei sicherheitsrelevante Aspekten können E-Fahrzeuge punkten.

Der Mobilitätsmasterplan 2030 beschreibt Ziele, um bis 2030 nur noch emissionsfreie Neuzulassungen im PKW-Sektor zu erreichen. Daher ist es erforderlich, sukzessive auf batterieelektrische Fahrzeuge umzustellen. Dass E-Fahrzeuge sicher sind und laut ADAC auch bei Crashtests bereits besser als konventionelle Fahrzeuge abschneiden, unterstreicht nochmal ihr Potenzial. Dennoch gilt es bestehende Unsicherheiten in der Bevölkerung gerade bezüglich Brandsicherheit auszuräumen. Im aktuellen Informationsblatt zur Brandsicherheit bei E-Fahrzeugen hat das Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz (BMK) dieses Thema und weitere Sicherheitsaspekte bei elektrisch betriebenen Fahrzeugen zusammengefasst.

Brandsicherheit in der Garage

Laut einer vom deutschen Verkehrsministerium beauftragten Studie sollen 2030 rund 80 bis 90 Prozent der Ladungen am privaten Stellplatz stattfinden. Viele davon befinden sich in Garagen und bezüglich der Brandsicherheit bei E-Fahrzeugen gibt es hierzu noch Unsicherheiten. Es ist ein verbreiteter Irrglaube, dass moderne E-Autos sogenannte Ladegase absondern. Dieser Mythos erweist sich insofern als falsch, da dies nur auf Blei-Säure-Akkus zutrifft, welche in heutigen E-Auto-Modellen nicht mehr eingesetzt werden. In modernen E-Fahrzeugen kommen Lithium-Ionen-Batterien zum Einsatz, die weitgehend gasdicht und sicher sind. Kabelbrände können per se zwar nicht ausgeschlossen werden, kommen allerdings bei entsprechend fachgerechter Installation und Wartung der Ladeinfrastruktur selten bis gar nicht vor. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass die haushaltsübliche Schuko-Steckdose nicht für die Dauerbelastung ausgelegt ist, welche beim Laden eines E-Autos entsteht. Deshalb soll zumindest eine für die Dauerbelastung ausgelegt CEE-Steckdose („Starkstrom-Steckdose“) oder besser eine für die Ladung konzipierte „Wallbox“ verwendet werden. Das „Right to Plug“, das am 17. Juni 2021 in Begutachtung gegangen ist, wird den Ausbau von Ladestationen im Wohnbau erleichtern und auch den Ausbau entsprechend beschleunigen. Die Installation einer privaten Ladestation sollte ausschließlich von einem konzessionierten Elektrofachbetrieb erfolgen. Installation und Betrieb einer Ladestation sind streng geregelt, Ladestationen müssen auch jährlich überprüft werden.

Brandsicherheit bei einem verunfallten E-Fahrzeug

E-Fahrzeuge verhalten sich im Brandfall nicht wesentlich anders als Verbrennungsfahrzeuge, wie auch das österreichische Forschungsprojekt „BRAFA“ bewies. Allerdings gibt es einen Unterschied bei der Brandbekämpfung und Bergung der verunfallten Fahrzeuge. Wenn die Batterie so stark deformiert ist, dass es zu einem Batteriebrand kommt, kann bis zu 100 Stunden später noch die Entstehung eines oder mehrerer Folgebrände nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Daher ist auf ausreichend Löschwasser sowie auf freiwerdende Gase zu achten und ein fachgerechter Abtransport sowie eine entsprechende Lagerung des Wracks sind essenziell. Nur in den seltensten Fällen muss das Fahrzeug dazu laut der Deutschen Gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung e.V. (DGUV) in einem Wasserbad gelagert werden, was auch nicht als Präventivmaßnahme empfohlen wird. Der österreichische Bundesfeuerverband hat bereits 2020 ein Informationsblatt für den richtigen Umgang mit verunfallten E-Fahrzeugen für Feuerwehrkräfte herausgebracht.

Weiterführende Forschungen zu Sicherheitsaspekten

Neue Studien und Projekte untersuchen weitere Fragestellungen zu Unfällen und Brandverhalten von E-Fahrzeugen, damit E-Autos auch einen positiven sicherheitsrelevanten Beitrag in der Mobilitätswende leisten können. Neben dem FFG-Projekt „BRAFA“ untersucht das Projekt „BEVITUN“ die Auswirkungen von Unfällen mit alternativ betriebenen Fahrzeugen in Tunnelanlagen. Die Zwischenergebnisse dieser Forschungsprojekte sind jedenfalls sehr positiv: E-Fahrzeuge sind sehr sicher und unterscheiden sich im Brandverhalten nicht wesentlich von Verbrennungsfahrzeugen. Auch der ADAC kommt in seinen Untersuchungen zu einem positiven Testurteil: Derzeit gibt es keine Hinweise, dass E-Fahrzeuge mit oder ohne Unfalleinwirkung eher zu brennen beginnen als Autos mit Verbrennungsmotor. Im Rahmen des Zero Emission Mobility Implementation Jahresprogramms 2020 wurde eine F&E-Dienstleistung ausgeschrieben, welche weitere offene sicherheitsrelevante Fragen bei Unfallsituationen mit batterieelektrischen Fahrzeugen untersuchen wird.

Um die Klimaziele im Mobilitätssektor zu erreichen, ist eine Umstellung auf emissionsfreie Fahrzeuge eine notwendige Voraussetzung. Im PKW-Sektor wurde die Technologieentscheidung hin zu einer Transformation zu rein batterieelektrischen Antrieben bereits getroffen. Im Bus- und schweren Nutzfahrzeugsektor ist die Antriebstechnologie der Zukunft derzeit noch nicht eindeutig. Dies zeigt sich auch in den Neuzulassungszahlen des ersten Halbjahres 2021, wo rund 15.300 reine E-PKW (rund 14% Anteil an den Neuzulassungen) und nur vier Wasserstoffautos zugelassen wurden. Es ist wichtig, seitens der öffentlichen Hand die richtigen Rahmenbedingungen zu setzen, damit die Ladeinfrastruktur gemäß den sicherheitsrelevanten Kriterien weiter ausgebaut und neue Erkenntnisse aus der Forschung in die Gestaltung der Rahmenbedingungen einfließen können.

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um Ihre Benutzererfahrung zu verbessern. Bitte lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung um mehr zu erfahren, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie diese verwalten können. Sie haben die Möglichkeit per Klick auf den Button „Cookies akzeptieren“ freiwillig alle nicht notwendigen Cookies zu akzeptieren oder per Klick auf den Button „Cookies ablehnen“ diese abzulehnen.