News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

ICT4CART: The path to automated driving

Feb 1, 2021

Alexander Frötscher, infrastructure and data expert, talks about ICT4CART and AustriaTech's role in the project as part of the ICT4CART interview series. He also gives an outlook on how automated driving can be realized on the roads and what obstacles still need to be overcome. AustriaTech acts as national contact point for connected and automated driving and actively informs about day one C-ITS services and validates them on the road.

Austriatech in ICT4CART: what is your role?

AustriaTech is active in many work packages of ICT4CART. Taking part in the specification and review of all four-use cases in the project, AustriaTech has provided requirements in fields of Cyber Security and Hybrid Connectivity (as a combination of cellular based and wireless short range communication). In the specification phase of the system architecture, AustriaTech took part in the review of the infrastructure elements. AustriaTech will be among the many partners in ICT4Cart to test the architecture at Test sites in Austria and in the cross-border site between Austria and Italy. As part of ICT4CART’s dissemination strategy, AustriaTech is involved in stakeholder engagement. The strategy contains the forming of an Advisory Board, a group of experts of project relevant areas, who are sharing their expertise to guide the consortium. Furthermore, research projects, automotive & ICT companies as well as universities form the broader group of stakeholders.

What are the preconditions to provide a versatile connected infrastructure and how does this support the evolution towards autonomous driving?

The first steps towards autonomous driving on real road networks are currently performed with the day one C-ITS services rolled out in Europe and extended with additional day 1.5 messages targeted to areas like platooning of vehicles or advanced vehicle assistance for merging situations. Secondly dissemination takes an important role to create public awareness for C-ITS and the development towards automated driving. As described above, approaching key stakeholders is a first step to forming a common knowledge base.

How can seamless cross-border connected infrastructure be ensured? What are the obstacles and how could they be overcome?

As first step, it is important to settle for common service definitions, which are specified and valid in the whole EU, accessible and openly available as complete communication profiles. Furthermore, the limits of cellular networks must be taken into consideration. In the second step, use cases, which stand for possible traffic scenarios, are defined and agreed. Additionally, the network implementations and handover procedures must be agreed on in the EU.

According to your analysis, how will the market structure develop?

In order to establish a market structure, strong support from road infrastructure operators is needed as well as contributions from a solid base of day one information service among others. As of now, the first series of vehicle models are already fully connected and C-ITS equipped. Not only do they support the Day 1 Service set, they are also extending this features to mass market vehicles and will hereby boost the interaction between infrastructures and vehicle fleets in the near future.

 

The entire interview is available at ICT4CART.

Contact

Alexander Frötscher
Business Unit Digitale Infrastrukturen & Daten, Technical Advisor

More information

This site uses cookies to improve your user experience. Please read our privacy policy to learn more about how we use cookies and how you can manage them. You have the option to voluntarily accept all cookies that are not necessary by clicking on the "Accept Cookies" button or to reject them by clicking on the "Reject Cookies" button.

News
© Huger / AustriaTech
AustriaTech AustriaTech auf Facebook AustriaTech auf Twitter AustriaTech auf LinkedIn AustriaTech auf Xing AustriaTech auf YouTube

ICT4CART: Der Weg zu automatisiertem Fahren

01.02.2021

Alexander Frötscher, Experte für digitale Infrastrukturen und Daten, spricht im Rahmen der ICT4CART Interviewserie über das Projekt und die Rolle der AustriaTech. Außerdem gibt er einen Ausblick darauf wie automatisiertes Fahren auf den Straßen realisiert werden kann und welche Hindernisse noch zu bewältigen sind. AustriaTech fungiert als nationale Kontaktstelle für vernetztes und automatisiertes Fahren und informiert über C-ITS-Dienste und validiert diese auf der Straße.

Was ist die Rolle der AustriaTech in ICT4CART?

AustriaTech ist in vielen Arbeitspaketen von ICT4CART involviert. Für die Use Cases hat AustriaTech die Anforderungen in den Bereichen Cyber Security und Hybrid Connectivity (als Kombination aus zellularer und drahtloser Kurzstrecken-Kommunikation) bereitgestellt. In der Spezifikationsphase der Systemarchitektur hat AustriaTech an der Begutachtung der Infrastrukturelemente mitgewirkt. AustriaTech wird einer der vielen Partner in ICT4CART sein, die die Architektur an Teststandorten in Österreich und im grenzüberschreitenden Bereich zwischen Österreich und Italien testen. Als Teil der Verbreitungsstrategie von ICT4CART ist AustriaTech in die Einbindung von Stakeholdern involviert und steht in direktem Kontakt mit einer Gruppe von Experten in den für das Projekt relevanten Bereichen, um die Weitergabe ihres Fachwissens zur Steuerung des Konsortiums zu erleichtern. Darüber hinaus bilden Forschungsprojekte, Automobil- und IKT-Unternehmen sowie Universitäten die breitere Gruppe der Stakeholder.

Was sind die Voraussetzungen, um eine vielseitige vernetzte Infrastruktur bereitzustellen und wie unterstützt diese die Entwicklung hin zum automatisierten Fahren?

Die ersten Schritte auf dem Weg zum automatisierten Fahren auf realen Straßennetzen sind getan, wenn die C-ITS Day 1 Dienste in Europa ausgerollt und mit zusätzlichen Day-1.5-Nachrichten für Bereiche wie Platooning von Fahrzeugen oder erweiterte Fahrzeugassistenz für Zusammenführungssituationen erweitert werden. Zweitens spielt die Verbreitung eine wichtige Rolle, um ein öffentliches Bewusstsein für C-ITS und die Entwicklung hin zum automatisierten Fahren zu schaffen. Wie oben beschrieben, ist die Kontakt zu Stakeholdern ein erster Schritt zur Bildung einer gemeinsamen Wissensbasis.

Wie kann eine nahtlos verbundene grenzüberschreitende Infrastruktur sichergestellt werden? Was sind die Hindernisse und wie könnten sie überwunden werden?

Als erster Schritt ist es wichtig, sich auf gemeinsame Dienstdefinitionen zu einigen, die in der gesamten EU spezifiziert und gültig sind. Außerdem müssen die Grenzen der zellularen Netze berücksichtigt werden. Im zweiten Schritt werden Anwendungsfälle, die für mögliche Verkehrsszenarien stehen, definiert und vereinbart. Zusätzlich müssen die Netzimplementierungen und Übergabeverfahren in der EU abgestimmt werden.

Wie wird sich Ihrer Analyse zufolge die Marktstruktur entwickeln?

Um eine Marktstruktur zu etablieren, ist eine starke Unterstützung durch die Betreiber der Straßeninfrastruktur erforderlich sowie Beiträge einer soliden Basis von u. a. Day-One-Informationsdiensten. Zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt sind die ersten Serien von Fahrzeugmodellen bereits vollständig vernetzt und mit C-ITS ausgestattet. Sie unterstützen nicht nur das Day-1-Service-Set, sondern weiten diese Funktionen auch auf Fahrzeuge des Massenmarktes aus und werden dadurch in naher Zukunft die Interaktion zwischen Infrastrukturen und Fahrzeugflotten fördern.

 

Das gesamte Interview ist auf Englisch bei ICT4CART verfügbar.

Kontakt

Alexander Frötscher
Business Unit Digitale Infrastrukturen & Daten, Technical Advisor

Weitere Infos

Diese Seite verwendet Cookies, um Ihre Benutzererfahrung zu verbessern. Bitte lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung um mehr zu erfahren, wie wir Cookies verwenden und wie Sie diese verwalten können. Sie haben die Möglichkeit per Klick auf den Button „Cookies akzeptieren“ freiwillig alle nicht notwendigen Cookies zu akzeptieren oder per Klick auf den Button „Cookies ablehnen“ diese abzulehnen.